Honour Board

WA School of Mines Alumni Honour Board


SIR LAURENCE BRODIE-HALL AWASM HonDTech(WAIT) EX D of WMC, Director of Alcoa of Australia.

Involved in WMC gold production,iron ore exports, Kambalda nickel development, Yeelirrie uranium and Olympic Dam discoveries. Life Member of both the AusIMM and the CME of WA, and Chair of WA CSIRO Advisory Committee. Chair of the WASM Board when WASM introduced degree courses, to retain world class status as a mining school of excellence. Sir Laurence was a great WASM supporter and fund raiser.

Dr. C.H.(Charles) WARMAN AM AWASM HonDSc (UNSW) HonDSc (Curtin) Hon F(IEAust) F(AustIMM) Hon Assoc(UNSW) HonM (WASMGA).

Inventor of the world class Warman Pump. Founder of the world-wide Warman International pump manufacturer and distributer, joint applicant for pegging Mt Newman iron ore leases. Committed to research for excellence. Sponsor of WASM Student Medal. “Ranked 5th best engineer in Australia for 20th Century”.

KEITH F PARRY AO AWASM Director of Operations of WMC after starting as a surveyor, Director Alcoa of Australia, Director Mt Magnet NL, President CME WA, Member WASM Board of Management, Mentor to many mining industry high achievers.

The WMC Keith Parry Memorial Trust Fund honours his many contributions to the mining industry. “World Class Operator ” Mt Charlotte, Kambalda, Olympic Dam”.

PETER M WREFORD AWASM Mining 1942. Aust.

Director, BP Minerals (UK), JV partner in the WMC Olympic Dam Project development- MD Seltrust (Aust) Ltd during exploration & development, Agnew Nickel (MIM JV) and Selcast Teutonic Bore Nickel projects.-Chairman WA Chamber of Minerals & Energy, Golden Mile U/G/ M Lake View & Star Mine, Manager at Qld Mary Kathleen Uranium Mine and later Canadian based for promoting mineral processing technology. “ Legendary Dynamic Mining Mover and Shaker”.